Tourist Visas for Ecuador

Ecuador welcomes people from all over the world who wish to visit for a short period of time or to establish a permanent residency. Most people do not require a visa prior to visiting Ecuador for a stay of up to 90 days. Nonetheless, citizens (passport holders) from the following countries must obtain a visa at the Ecuadorian consulate of their jurisdiction:

Afghanistan Bangladesh Eritrea Ethiopia
Ethiopia Kenya Nepal Nigeria
Pakistan Somalia Senegal Cuba
North Korea

In addition, since August 12, 2019, nationals of the following countries require a visa to enter Ecuador:

Angola Cameroon Gambia Ghana
Guinea India Iraq Libya
DR of Congo Syria Sri Lanka

All travellers must have the following:

  • A passport with remaining validity of at least 6 months beyond their travel dates.
  • A round/onward trip ticket.
  • Health insurance that will cover any health issues during their visit to Ecuador.

The possession of a visa or the lack of a visa requirement does not guarantee entry into Ecuador. At the port of entry, an Ecuadorian Customs Official will determine if the person is eligible to enter.

For more information on visas to Ecuador please visit: