skip to Main Content

Cartago, is a province of central Costa Rica. It is one of the smallest provinces, but probably the richest of the Spanish Colonial era sites and traditions.

It is located in the central part of the country and borders the provinces of Limón to the east and San Jose to the west.

The capital is Cartago; until 1823 it was also the capital of Costa Rica, which is now San José. The province covers an area of 3,124.61 km² and has a population of 490,903. It is subdivided into eight cantons and is connected to San José via a four-lane highway.

The highest peak is Cerro de la Muerte at 3,600 meters above sea level, and the lowest point of the province is Turrialba, which is 90 meters above sea level


Blog Posts:

Costa Rica: Parque Nacional de Irazú

Costa Rica: Parque Nacional de Irazú

Located in Central Costa Rica, Irazú is an active volcano. Its maximum elevation is 11260 feet …
Load More
Back To Top
PHP Code Snippets Powered By :
%d bloggers like this: