skip to Main Content

Alajuela is a province of Costa Rica. It is located in the north-central part of the country, bordering Nicaragua to the north. It also borders the provinces of Heredia to the east, San José to the south, Puntarenas to the southwest and Guanacaste to the west. 

Alajuela is composed of 16 cantons, which are divided into 111 districts. It covers an area of 9,757.53 square kilometres.

The provincial capital is Alajuela. Other large cities include Quesada, Aguas Zarcas, Naranjo, Zarcero, Orotina, Sarchí Norte, Upala, San Ramón, Grecia and Los Chiles.

Blog Posts:

Costa Rica: Alajuela – Ten great things to do in La Fortuna

La Fortuna is about 2.5 hours from San Jose. It’s known as a gateway to Arenal Volcano National …

Costa Rica: Alajuela – The Best Hot Springs in La Fortuna / Arenal

The Arenal Volcano eruption of 1968 changed the topography of the area around La Fortuna / Arenal. …

Costa Rica: La Fortuna / Arenal – Hotel Arenal Xilopalo (Review)

The central mountains of Costa Rica are a tourist haven with stunning scenery, beautiful …

Costa Rica: Alajuela – Volcan Arenal

Located 15 kilometres from Fortuna between the foothills of the Cordillera de Tilaran mountain …
Load More
Back To Top
PHP Code Snippets Powered By :
%d bloggers like this: