Malaysia is a country in Southeast Asia. The federal constitutional monarchy consists of 13 states and three federal territories, separated by the South China Sea into two similarly sized regions, Peninsular Malaysia and East Malaysia (Malaysian Borneo). Peninsular Malaysia shares a land and maritime border with Thailand and maritime borders with Singapore, Vietnam, and Indonesia. East Malaysia shares land and maritime borders with Brunei and Indonesia and a maritime border with the Philippines and Vietnam. Kuala Lumpur is the national capital and largest city while Putrajaya is the seat of the federal government. With a population of over 30 million, Malaysia is the world’s 44th most populous country. The southernmost point of continental Eurasia, Tanjung Piai, is in Malaysia. In the tropics, Malaysia is one of 17 megadiverse countries, with large numbers of endemic species.

Malaysia has its origins in the Malay kingdoms which, from the 18th century, became subject to the British Empire, along with the British Straits Settlements protectorate. Peninsular Malaysia was unified as the Malayan Union in 1946. Malaya was restructured as the Federation of Malaya in 1948 and achieved independence on 31 August 1957. Malaya united with North Borneo, Sarawak, and Singapore on 16 September 1963 to become Malaysia. In 1965, Singapore was expelled from the federation.

The country is multi-ethnic and multi-cultural, which plays a large role in its politics. About half the population is ethnically Malay, with large minorities of Malaysian Chinese, Malaysian Indians, and indigenous peoples. While recognising Islam as the country’s established religion, the constitution grants freedom of religion to non-Muslims. The government system is closely modelled on the Westminster parliamentary system and the legal system is based on common law. The head of state is the king, known as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong. He is an elected monarch chosen from the hereditary rulers of the nine Malay states every five years. The head of government is the Prime Minister. The country’s official language is Malaysian, a standard form of the Malay language. English remains an active second language.

Capital: Kuala Lumpur
Population: 32.8 million

$1USD = 4.05 Ringgit Climate Before you go Health & Safety Visa Information Electrical
Johor Kedah Kelantan Melaka Negeri Sembilan Pahang
Perak Perlis Pulau Pinang Sabah Sarawak Selangor
Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur Wilayah Persekutuan Labuan Wilayah Persekutuan Putrajaya


Blog Posts:

Malaysia: Borneo – The Rain Forest Discovery Centre

A great insight into the fauna and flora of Borneo. There is a well thought out inside exhibition ...

Malaysia: Borneo (Sabah) – Cruising the Kinabatangan River in seach of Proboscis Monkies

The start of a journey down the Kinabatangan River in Sabah, Borneo. This is the perfect place to ...

Malaysia: Borneo – A chance meeting with pygmy elephants

Whilst I was laid up in my room at the Kinabatangan Wetlands Resort from my fall the night before ...

Malaysia: Sabah – Bornean Sun Bear Conservation Centre

The sun bear conservation centre in Sandakan has a mission to rescue these small and endangered ...

Malaysia: Borneo (Sabah) – A visit to the Sepilok Orangutan Sanctuary

For as long as I can remember I have had a love affair with orangutans. so a trip to Borneo has ...

Malaysia: Kuala Lumpur a facinating city full of hidden gems

With half a day in Malaysia\'s capital city, we had to choose carefully what to do. Top of my list ...

Crash bang wallop – a sobering tale but a taking a positive view

After a recent accident whist away on vacation in an exotic location I came away thankful to be ...

Down but not out … resting up after a bad accident

A few days after falling off a boardwalk at Kinabatangan Wetlands Resort and breaking five ribs I ...
Load More